Germany’s Frodeno wins triathlon at the wire

BEIJING (AP): Jan Frodeno of Germany has won the men’s triathlon, edging Simon Whitfield of Canada in an exciting four-man sprint finish.

Whitfield led momentarily just a few meters (yards) from the finish line, but Frodeno raced past him to win by about 5 seconds.

Bevan Docherty of New Zealand took the bronze.

Favorite Javier Gomez of Spain was also in the final group of leaders, but the 2008 world champion didn’t appear to have the energy for a strong finish.

He ended up fourth.

Whitfield won the gold medal in 2000 in Sydney, the first year triathlon medals were awarded at the Olympics.

Docherty was the silver medalist four years ago in Athens.

Published by beauty80

LOVE TRAVELLING, PASSION FOR FOOD, ADMIRE NATURE, READING A MUST, I WRITE SHORT POEMS ON LOVE & FRIENDSHIP, MOTIVATION, QUOTATION, LIKE MUSIC BUT MOST OF ALL SPEND MY TIME ON SPIRITUAL BOOKS. Blogging, my pass time. I am who I am, no one else.. I come, I see, I post, I go. A simple person, living a simple life.

Leave a comment